Week 6: Honey Whole Wheat, now with Whole Wheat

After mulling my spice issue over (see what I did there?), I decided to put off adding spices to the dough until after I had figured out if adding whole wheat flour back to the recipe would give it what I was looking for. So in the end, the only thing I did change to last week’s recipe was to add a half cup of whole wheat flour.

Just before 8am I started the dough cycle, hoping to have bagels done in time to take a few to Daughter’s basketball game in the afternoon.

24764582512_3457f27450_z

8:40am
I returned from walking the dog to find that the bread machine had taken a turn for the clockwise. I’m guessing that the addition of the whole wheat flour really has changed the density of the dough.

24856205856_931a5b2569_z

9:20am
The dough is pressed against the viewing window of the bread machine. Okay, yeast, you’ve made your point. I’ll let you out now.

24254322854_7106b76f68_z

9:30am
Eight dough balls now rest on a Silpat sheet under a blanket of thin cotton. The oven has already been preheated. This week I started heating the boil water as soon as the dough came out of the pan. Now we’re going to find out how long it really takes to come up to the boil.

9:40am
Answer: It takes 10 minutes.

9:45am
The bagels are in the oven and I’ve set the timer for 20 minutes. The bagels were boiled in batches of four, for about a minute on each side. It may have been a minute and a half on each side; I wasn’t timing that because I formed the second quartet of bagels while the first quartet was boiling. All the bagels got a whole-egg wash and two of them got  a generous topping of Brady Street Cheese Sprinkle (from Penzeys Spices) before I put everything in the oven for 20 minutes.

Wait, I didn’t take any pictures?

10:05am
I’ve separated the bagels from the Silpat sheet (and each other), turned the baking sheet around, and set the timer for 10 more minutes. They look good and the kitchen smells great.

24255618493_70cb730104_z

10:15am
The bagels are OUT! This batch looks very, very good and I’m looking forward to trying one. But first I have to set a few aside to deliver to Daughter and Sons at the basketball game that will be taking place soon after I have just enough time to get ready and drive up there. I’ll have my bagel later.

24764569182_af604827ef_z

24856194086_66f2f3d031_z

LATER
After the tournament game (which our team won! Go Knights!), Daughter devoured her bagel without the chance to slice it, toast it, or top it with anything. “This is even better than last week’s,” she pronounced. Son Two and Son Three were not present to receive their bagels in person, so they (the bagels) were sent along. I hope to get their feedback soon. My two other testers will get their bagels tomorrow.

At last it was my turn. My bagel suffered a bit in the Bagel Guillotine — I’m not sure what I can do about that — but it held up to two passes through the toaster and a topping of cream cheese just fine. It was a little crispy on the outside and very chewy on the inside.

24254321294_ffaee1bc53_z

Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

