Week 11: Fox Point bagels

Note: These bagels were made on March 14, 2016.

I started the dough cycle for these bagels at 6pm, using the same base recipe as I had for the “Italian” bagels but adding 2 tablespoons of Penzeys Fox Point seasoning with the flour, salt, and sugar. And it didn’t occur to me until I started adding the Fox Point seasoning that these might look like an attempt at St. Patrick’s Day bagels. I don’t want to begrudge anyone their fun as long as it’s safe, but I don’t really see the point of putting green dye into everything. If you’re Irish or just pretending to be, well, slainté! and get home safe.

These are not St. Patrick’s Day bagels. These are my tribute to my favorite spice blend from my favorite spice company. If you are a fellow Penzeys fan, I probably had you at “Fox Point,” the seasoning that tastes great on everything. Popcorn? Scrambled eggs? Toast? Steak? Bring it on! I only hope that it will taste as good inside a bagel as it does on top of everything else.

25170666414_0d0d6428d5_k

25680172212_9639d3164e_k

25174521393_54d48adab2_k

25801160785_6e1823e34c_k

25500471000_5bb8a31893_k

The verdict? The bagels themselves got good reviews, but I felt that the Fox Point flavor was muted to the point of being barely noticeable. That wasn’t my intent at all. I’ll just have to figure out another way to try to get those flavors into the bagel.

Leave a Reply

